Bipolar Bob’s BLOGs

February 10, 2007

Did I take my medication today?

Filed under: Bipolar, Tip — Bipolar Bob @ 10:03 pm

This is a question that comes up for mentally ill people more than you would think. This is a problem because of the obvious blood levels of the drugs changing but also from the stress of just trying to remember, “Did I or didn’t I?”. Here is one thing that I usually do. Let us assume that I take two pills in the morning and two pills at night. If it has been more than 4 hours after normal pill taking time or more than 4 hours before the next dose then I will take a half a dose, or one pill, when the question comes up. Then I take the regular dose at the next regular time. The result of this will be: 1)if I had taken my AM dose and forgotten I will have taken 125% of my medication for the day or 2) if I had skipped my AM dose, at the end of the day I will have taken 75% of my recommended daily dosage. And 3) no stress about forgetting.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

